Centers of Excellence

In an effort to focus attention on the value of the State University System to Florida’s economy and the critical role public universities play in research discovery, business innovation, and job development, the Florida Legislature appropriated $30 million in 2002 to establish Centers of Excellence on three Florida campuses. Now, thanks to additional legislative appropriations, Florida’s Centers of Excellence program has grown from three original centers to a total of eleven statewide, encompassing six broad study disciplines.

    Life Sciences

  • Center of Excellence in Regenerative Health Biotechnology: University of Florida
  • Center of Excellence in Biomedical and Marine Biotechnology: Florida Atlantic University
  • Center of Excellence in Biomolecular Identification & Targeted Therapeutics: University of South Florida
  • Optics/photonics

  • Photonics Center of Excellence: University of Central Florida
  • Photonics Center of Excellence, Laser Technology Institute: University of Central Florida
  • Alternative energy

  • Center of Excellence in Ocean Energy Technology: Florida Atlantic University
  • Florida Institute for Sustainable Energy Technology Incubator: University of Florida
  • Advanced Materials

  • Center of Excellence in Advanced Materials: Florida State University
  • Aero-Propulsion

  • Center of Excellence for Advance Aero-Propulsion: Florida State University
  • Hurricane Response

  • Center of Excellence for Hurricane Damage Mitigation and Product Development: Florida International University